Taking a Leap

Today I thought I’d write about something decidedly non-ridiculous: trusting yourself and taking a leap.

Some of us may be lucky enough to be in a very encouraging and empowering work environment, but I know there are a lot of others out there who are…not. It can be tricky to be in a changing field like communications/PR, and you may find yourself surrounded by naysayers (always makes me think of this: “What is this, Horseville? Cuz I’m surrounded by naysayers. Wordplay!” —Tracy Jordan) and people who just plain don’t like change.

You know what? Scratch that. That applies to way more than just communications/PR–just check out how many titles there are about dealing with and instituting change in the Business section of your local bookstore. Or Amazon, whatever.

This post is not those books, and I am no expert. What I’m saying is that sometimes you just need a little reminder that you’re on the right track. You’re doing the right thing. In fact, you’re awesome. Without risk, there is no reward. You have a goal? Go for it. What’s holding you back?

Take the initiative and do something that makes you happy, advances your career, and/or improves your workplace. You can do it!

4 thoughts on “Taking a Leap

  1. Rock on twin!
    I thoroughly enjoyed this post. It has inspired me to go for some things and just try. After all, I tell my kids this… You’re awesome and I heart you!

  2. Just wanted to say that your post nails it. You might want to add that you have to ignore those who would hold you back – usually those who love status quo…

    Thanks for your like on my post, btw… and love your mustache! LOL

Leave a Reply

