Twenty-three Weeks

23 weeks pregnant
23 Weeks Pregnant

How far along: Apparently 23 weeks = “super pregnant” zone.

Baby’s size: The size of a grapefruit, but make sure to pick a pretty big one. It should weigh more than a pound! Baby Bear also measures almost a foot long.

Weight gain: Man, I don’t know. I feel big. Pants that previously could zip up a little but not button now can’t zip at all, so that may be contributing to feeling rather large. I am trying to do as much walking as I can though, and Sammy is happy to help with that. Check out this article I found about exercise during pregnancy helping the baby’s brain.

Sleep: Gah so tired. I have been lucky enough not to have any pregnancy insomnia, but I am just super sleepy. One night this week it took me an extra half hour to fall asleep because Baby Bear kept moving around!

Clothes: The stretchier, the better. Super uncomfortable this week.

Cravings: None, really. Coffee, but that’s more about wanting the caffeine to get me going in the mornings. I’ve never drank more than one cup a day, so I don’t have to try to cut back or anything, which is cool.

Food aversions: None

Symptoms: So not only does my back ache on a daily basis now, what I thought was an occasional sore muscle twinge is officially sciatica. Ouch. Prenatal yoga last weekend was so painful, I couldn’t stop myself from making faces so badly that the instructor came and asked if I was okay after class. Also, regular heartburn at inconvenient times. This is…decidedly not fun. And I was doing so well! I was almost beginning to wonder if I actually liked being pregnant. Oh yeah, nope. No thanks.

Movement: Baby Bear is kicking me on a daily basis now. And in addition to sitting on my sciatic nerve, s/he likes to sit on my bladder. Extra bonus points if that happens 15 minutes after I just went to the bathroom.

Baby’s sex: I had another dream about the baby! This time it was actually already born and was a boy. I can’t believe I’ve had one dream about it being a girl and another about it being a boy! This is so not helpful.

Highlight of the week: Picking out the paint color for the nursery. I have a really hard time visualizing how a color will look in an entire room, but I think once we finish painting it will really start coming together.

What I’m reading: The Red Tent by Anita Diamant

Leave a Reply

