Thirty Weeks Pregnant

30 Weeks Pregnant
30 Weeks Pregnant

How far along: 30 weeks, or seven and a half months.

Baby’s size: Baby Bear is growing right on track! Apparently they can measure how big the baby is with just a tape measure. They start it at your pubic bone and measure how big your uterus is (just by pressing and feeling around your belly). It’s supposed to be the same as the number of weeks, so it was 30 cm at 30 weeks on Tuesday. Golden!

Weight gain: A total of +31 lbs, which is according to the doctor on Tuesday. Considering I weighed myself at Christmas and was at +30, I’m just surprised it’s not more! (Don’t tell my midwife that.) The lecture this time was extremely abbreviated and just limited to advising me to shoot for gaining a half a pound a week and warning me that the baby can grow a LOT in the next couple of months. I assumed that she was doing the classic “more weight gain = bigger baby” but I am not so sure that link is real. I said “everyone is different” and she agreed and left it at that.

Sleep: Still just pretty sleepy most of the time!

Clothes: When it was super cold this week, I was really wishing I had a coat that buttoned. 

Cravings: Milk and cookies! I found out I am in the clear for gestational diabetes, so bring it on.

Food aversions: None.

Symptoms: Ugh, most pressing is that my back just kills me all the time. I’m a bit front-heavy these days. I’ve also had a stuffed up/runny nose for two weeks now, but it’s unclear if that’s a cold or a pregnancy symptom. I haven’t mentioned it in a while, but my gums still bleed like I got punched in the mouth every time I brush and floss. Gross.

Movement: Getting kicked all the time! Baby Bear just nestles into my right side a bunch, sometimes with an elbow out that you can see and feel. Freaky.

Baby’s sex: Still absolutely no clue, but other people seem to be getting more sure as we go!

Highlight of the week: This week was pretty quiet, but I’m just really looking forward to having my college friends in town next weekend.

What I’m reading: Nurtureshock by Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman. I’ve already read it once, but it seems more relevant now.

Leave a Reply

