Eight Months Pregnant

32 Weeks Pregnant
32 Weeks Pregnant

How far along: 32 weeks, which is eight whole months of being pregnant. One of the biggest lies about pregnancy is that it lasts nine months, but they calculate your due date based on a 40 week timeline. For those of you playing along at home, that’s actually more like ten months, so I have two months to go.

Baby’s size: I have no idea why the pregnancy calendars are starting to vary more at this point, but let’s just say Baby Bear weighs about four pounds and is about 16-19″ long. Baby may be the size of a squash or whatever, but my belly is more the size of a basketball.

Weight gain: I saw a doctor in the practice this week instead of my normal midwife, and he never mentioned my weight, which I really appreciated. He just asked how I was feeling and if we had any questions, measured my belly (still right on track) and listened to the heartbeat (still in the 140s). I did see on the scale that I had gained quite a bit, though. I think I’m up to a total of +44? That is pretty crazy, but I still don’t feel like I’ve gained that much or gotten fat or anything. 

Sleep: Oh, sleep. You fickle thing. I am getting up to go to the bathroom 2-5 times a night, having trouble getting comfortable, and waking up just as exhausted as if I had gotten 5 hours of sleep instead of 8. I am still having crazy dreams, usually involving crowds of people. Not sure what that means.

This week I dreamed I was navigating the Metro at eight months pregnant, except it was dark and really crowded (so maybe more like the NY Subway?). Then once I rode the escalator above ground, I came across Joseph Gordon-Levitt, and he said “I’m sorry you had to find out this way…” and then my alarm went off. Honestly, unless he was about to tell me the sex of my baby, I am pretty uninterested in what he was going to say. Still love you, JGL, but get the heck out of my dreams and let me have some clue about whether it’s a boy or a girl!

Clothes: Well, I’m wearing tank tops in the office because I’m sweating my face off even though everyone else is comfortable, so that’s fun. Of course, it’s 14 degrees outside, so that sweat freezes and I don’t have a coat that buttons up so then it’s like Super Fun Times.

Cravings: Everything bagels with cream cheese from Cadence Coffee.

Food aversions: None.

Symptoms: My feet are all swollen, which I am really upset about. I thought I had managed to escape that symptom, but noooo. My wedding ring also didn’t fit this morning, so I’m wearing my engagement ring instead. Just as a bonus, I’m getting nosebleeds pretty often thanks to the dry air and being congested already. The rest is the same old, same old: backache + heartburn + exhaustion.

Movement: I am starting to wonder if Baby Bear ever sleeps! I feel some kind of kick, jab, flip, or turn at least once an hour. Sometimes it’s weird, other times it’s uncomfortable or hurts and I can see a lump sticking out of my belly! I can usually push or rub on the elbow, knee, or foot that’s sticking out and make it feel better.

Baby’s sex: Ugh who knows. Just going to have to wait out the last weeks to find out for sure!

Highlight of the week: My friends coming to Chattanooga! Loved seeing everyone and having them over to our house for a baby shower and potluck.

2 thoughts on “Eight Months Pregnant

Leave a Reply

