Thirty-five Weeks Pregnant

bump-35-weeks
35 Weeks Pregnant

How far along: I skipped a week because of some personal issues, but it was already edging into the next week anyway. Now I’m 35 weeks, one day. Five weeks left until my due date! I got my hair dyed closer to my natural color so I wouldn’t have to worry about maintaining it so much once the baby gets here.

Baby’s size: It felt like my bump didn’t get much bigger, but it’s clear from the pictures that it keeps growing! Baby Bear is the size of a coconut now. All of his/her organs are fully functional now and major developmental milestones have been hit, so now it’s just time to put on the pounds! Baby could be 20″ long and 5.5 lbs by now.

Weight gain: Only +2 lbs since my last visit to the doctor’s office, but that’s a total of +46. One of the good things about living in the south is that everyone has been pretty awesome about telling me I look fabulous instead of pointing out that I waddle like a penguin.

Sleep: I can sleep an incredible amount these days. I haven’t really been passing out cold like I used to, because it takes me a while to get comfortable and I toss and turn more throughout the night. 

Clothes: I got another pair of leggings from Target because they were 40% off and I basically live in the one pair I have. I’m thinking that’s a good investment for the remaining month or so and time afterward.

Cravings: Pretty much anything sweet!

Food aversions: Nope.

Symptoms: I absolutely have to put my feet up as much as I can, otherwise my shoes don’t fit. It’s really unpleasant. I also never know when I blow my nose whether it’ll give me a nosebleed. Super gross.

Movement: Baby Bear is back to being pretty active! I still feel big thumps occasionally, but mostly it’s little hand action down by my left hip and feet in my ribcage. My midwife guessed that Baby Bear is head down, back on the left side. That’s supposed to be the most optimal, so I hope s/he stays like that.

Baby’s sex: Baby Bear’s heartbeat was the fastest they’ve recorded so far, in the 160s. Does that mean girl? Or did they just catch the baby when s/he was awake and active? Only time will tell.

Highlight of the week: It was a pretty rough week, but the highlight was probably seeing how far the nursery has come. Allan’s Aunt Mary is painting a woodland scene mural on the wall, and it is so exciting to start to see it come together.

What I’m reading: Great Expectations: The Essential Guide to Breastfeeding. It’s answered a lot of questions I had and helped me feel a lot more prepared.

Leave a Reply

