Thirty-nine Weeks Pregnant

39 Weeks Pregnant
39 Weeks Pregnant

How far along: Thirty-nine weeks. It’s the final countdooownnnn! One week until my due date, but as we all know, that’s more of a guess than anything else. Baby Bear could make an appearance at any time!

Baby’s size: WATERMELON?! First of all, I don’t even think most newborns could be compared to a watermelon, so I have a hard time believing this is accurate. That sounds more like the size of my belly, which is holding steady at 37 cm fundal height. Apparently there’s not much more room to grow!

Weight gain: I actually lost two pounds this week. I had read that could happen at the end and my midwife wasn’t too concerned, so whatev. Maybe that means Baby Bear is ready! Total weight gain to date: +43.

Sleep: This week, I had a bit of a scare when my belly/abdomen started hurting and getting hard at some point after 4:30am one morning. I kept trying to change position to get more comfortable, but it kept happening and going away (not at regular times or anything). I tried to relax and go back to sleep, but at 6am-ish I finally got up, drank some water, and walked around, which made it go away. That thoroughly freaked me out though! False labor is really not fun. Since then, I’ve had a few little clusters of contractions in the wee hours of the mornings, but nothing too bad.

Other than those chunks of missing sleep this week, I’ve been doing okay. I’m still super uncomfortable and my limbs have been falling asleep under my crushing weight, so I do a lot of tossing and turning and getting up to go to the bathroom, but you know…same old, same old.

Clothes: I’d be fine with never seeing my small collection of maternity clothes ever again. So sick of them, especially as the weather gets warmer and I realize I only have two short sleeved tops and my bra straps show in my tank tops. Not great.

Cravings: I had a moment this week where I really, really needed a brownie, but that’s about it.

Food aversions: None.

Symptoms: Well, the bleeding on my gums has stopped, but I got a nosebleed at work that thoroughly freaked my co-workers out. I am so hot all the time and sweating like crazy (maybe that’s how I lost two pounds?). My back doesn’t wait until the end of the day to start aching, and my feet are pretty swollen 24/7. Heartburn is still around, but it seems completely random and can even wake me up in the middle of the night. Blech.

Funny face gif

Movement: My midwife says I should feel Baby Bear move ten times a day, which I am certain happens, even if I’m not counting. I feel like s/he moves all the time, all throughout the day. One night I got in the bath before bed and I could see my belly moving, both lumps poking out and little sweeping movements across the top. Freaky/weird/awesome.

One of my biggest fears these days is that Baby Bear won’t make it. I know it’s rare, but it happens, so the constant activity is reassuring but I’m still pretty freaked about it. I’m just hoping and praying that everything goes well these last few days (weeks?) and we get to welcome a healthy baby into our family soon.

Baby’s sex: The heart rate has been in the 150s the past two checkups, which sounds like a girl to me! Allan has switched back to thinking (and saying) it’s a boy now though. The suspense is killing me!

Highlight of the week: My parents arrived last weekend, and it’s been pretty awesome having them around. Really can’t overstate how great it is to have someone else coming up with meal ideas and cooking when I get home from work so I can put my feet up! Sammy dog also really appreciates all the love and walks.

What I’m reading: I’m busy consuming massive amounts of media in an effort to wrap my head around labor and birth. This 2000 article from a Lamaze publication was pretty good at reminding me that it’s a natural process that our bodies are equipped to handle, but this labor video from Mama Natural gave me a panic attack. That. Looks. PAINFUL. Mama Natural is a site that one of the girls in my Bradley Method class recommended, but to be honest, I want to like it but that lady annoys me. I should have known better than to watch that video.

I also remembered that my former neighbor in Alexandria was posting some natural birth motivation/inspiration on Pinterest, so I’ve been soaking in those positive vibes. I especially like the positive affirmations “my body knows what it’s doing,” “my baby is healthy,” and “I am completely cooperating with my body” from this blog.

One thought on “Thirty-nine Weeks Pregnant

  1. When I read parts of your blog it brought back memories of when I became so concerned that I hd not felt my baby move (Ann) for quite awhile. So I frantically called grandma W and off we went to the doc. Me, grandma and Steven nearly 3y/o. I was so big I had to sit in the back seat. Ann was just in her usual spot right under my left rib cage. She was just !sleeping but wiggling her toes. Go figure..I am so happy for you and Allan. AP

Leave a Reply

